• VB search
User Tag List

#1 Old 10-04-2009, 04:53 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Treatment of Psychiatric Patients/Former Patients/Survivors by ER and Walk-in Clinic Physicians, Nurses, and Staff

Greetings!

I am new to this community, and I am a Graduate Student in the Sociology of Medicine, Psychiatry, and "Madness". I am currently working on a project examining the treatment of psychiatric patients by ER and walk-in clinic doctors, nurses, and other staff. I am interested in collecting information about patients' experiences when entering one of these facilities either because of psychiatric crisis, or any other reason, as these professionals have access to any past or current "psychiatric record" when a new patient arrives and seeks medical attention of any variety at an ER or walk-in clinic.
I am a psychiatric survivor myself, and I have had some extremely negative and abusive experiences at the hands of ER/walk-in clinic physicians, but I am interested in hearing about all experiences, both positive and negative, in order to determine whether or not my experiences are representative of others', or if I've just had bad luck. Any information I collect from this community will be completely confidential and anonymous. If you are particularly interested, I would love to set up an interview with you. Posts on this forum are also a great contribution to my understanding of the circumstances outlined above. So if you are comfortable doing so, please share any information - I emphasize - positive, negative, or in-between!
I look forward to all interactions and networking with this community, and am also willing to share more information about my own experiences, but would rather do this via e-mail as to avoid personal bias in my research.

Cheers!
J. Reimer
Vancouver, BC
#2 Old 10-04-2009, 05:52 PM

Hello J. Reimer, and

Hello J. Reimer, and welcome. On another thread, "Benzodiazapenes" you said,